Contact New York Governors

Former governors

Contact New York Senators

Contact New York Representatives

New York became the 11th state to join the Union on July 26, 1788. New York’s first two senators, Rufus King and Philip Schuyler, took office on July 16, 1789. New York’s longest-serving senators include Jacob Javits (1957-1981) and Daniel Patrick Moynihan (1977-2001). Among those who rose to leadership positions are John Laurance, who served as the Senate’s president pro tempore, James Wadsworth, Jr., who served as Republican Party whip, and Charles E. Schumer, who currently serves as Democratic leader and Conference chairman. In 2001 Hillary R. Clinton became the first former First Lady to serve as a U.S. senator.