Contact Vermont Governors

Former governors

Contact Vermont Senators

former Vermont Senators

Contact Vermont congress

Vermont became the 14th state to join the Union on March 4, 1791. Vermont’s first two senators, Stephen Bradley and Moses Robinson, took office on October 17, 1791. Vermont’s longest-serving senators include Justin Morrill (1867-1898), George Aiken (1941-1975), and Patrick Leahy (1975-present). Among those who rose to leadership positions are Solomon Foot, George Edmunds, and Patrick Leahy, all of whom served as the Senate’s president pro tempore.